4457 Univ. Ave. NE

Columbia Heights, MN

763-571-9969

For Appointments

Mon - Fri: 8:00 - 5:00

C'mon in!

Reviews

Google Reviews

What our customers have to say about Lowell's Auto Repair

We love to hear from our friends and customers who’ve known us for years — let us know about your experience! Write a review on google for Lowell’s Auto Repair here.

Lowell's Auto Repair

4457 University Avenue Northeast, Columbia Heights

4.9 152 reviews

  • Avatar Brian A. ★★★★★ a week ago
    They are literally around the corner from my house. I had a dead battery and needed my breaks looked at. It was a great experience from the first conversation. Got a callback within a couple of hours of dropping it off. The price sounded … More fair, and the work was done in a timely manner. Really great service, and thankfully for me…right in my neighborhood. Thanks Lane and the staff at Lowell's Auto Repair.
  • Avatar Lisa R ★★★★★ 2 weeks ago
    Very knowledgeable, fair priced, and trustworthy mechanic. Won't bring our family cars anywhere else.
  • Avatar Chris Kolstad ★★★★★ 3 weeks ago
    Always consistent and friendly. Exceptional customer service and good prices. Never been disappointed.
  • Avatar Kris Chovan ★★★★★ 3 months ago
    My family has been going here for 20+ years. Always friendly and helpful and do a great job. Would highly recommend.
  • Avatar Tom Breza ★★★★★ 10 months ago
    I've been trying to find an auto repair shop that would be straight up and not rip you off. Well, found 'em. I HIGHLY recommend Lowell's. They were all around AWESOME !!!
  • Avatar Kendra Hubbell ★★★★★ a year ago
    Have been using Lowell's for years and couldn't recommend it more! They have fair pricing, great communication, fast turn around and go above and beyond with car repair. If you look at any of my reviews- I have car issues, for … More whatever reason, but Lowell's I have used for years and recommend to anyone in the neighborhood. Great, exceptional neighborhood mechanic.
  • Avatar Hannah ★★★★★ a year ago
    I’ve been taking my vehicles to Lowell’s for over 10 years and recommend them to all of my family and friends. I trust Lane and his team to keep my car running smoothly. The prices are always reasonable and I never feel like I am being … More “upsold” a service. They are not pushy, but honest about whatever work might need to be done and let you decide what is right for you. Since Lane has taken over the business, he has done a great job refreshing the place and continued the great service I experienced with Lowell.
  • Avatar Patty Amatuzio ★★★★★ a year ago
    I totally love this place!! Lane and the team are totally awesome. There is no other place I would ever want to bring my truck for repair. Fair prices, Great personalities and totally trust this place. You need to stop by and get your … More car or truck repaired at this place…
  • Avatar Patty A ★★★★★ a year ago
    I totally love this place!! Lane and the team are totally awesome. There is no other place I would ever want to bring my truck for repair. Fair prices, Great personalities and totally trust this place. You need to stop by and get your … More car or truck repaired at this place…
  • Avatar Scott Smrstick ★★★★★ a year ago
    Great price, great service, and quick turnaround. What more could you want from an auto shop? I wish I would have went to Lowell's first but now I know.
  • Avatar Sydney Stopera Garza ★★★★★ a year ago
    So many people from my family use Lowell and absolutely love the service him and his team provide. My husband and I even moved an hour away and still take our cars to him. Will have our business for life.
  • Avatar Sydney Stopera ★★★★★ a year ago
    So many people from my family use Lowell and absolutely love the service him and his team provide. My husband and I even moved an hour away and still take our cars to him. Will have our business for life.
  • Avatar Nicole Jean ★★★★★ a year ago
    I’m so glad I found Lowell’s! I’ve been servicing my BMW here for 2ys now and I’ve had a great experience every time. Lane and is team provide quality service all around, fast turn around times, and you can’t beat their pricing. I recommend … More this family-owned shop to everyone now. Thank you for everything Lane!
  • Avatar Marjorie Simon ★★★★★ a year ago
    Lowell's Auto Repair was sold last year to it's top auto technician, Lane. I wondered how it might change. I'm thrilled to report that Lowell's continues to offer the same friendly service, honesty, reasonable repair … More times and quality parts replacement. It is still the same excellent place it's always been. I drive in from Uptown and know it is worth every extra minute to have my car serviced here. They do a fantastic job AND are genuinely concerned about every single customer they serve. Love Lowel's!
  • Avatar elizabeth bailey ★★★★★ a year ago
    Been going here for years! Love them!!! Always fast ,efficient and very honest!! They have a new owner but I was happy to find out still the same great service 😊
  • Avatar Aj King ★★★★★ a year ago
    I bought this proof set at best pawn, and I couldn't believe the great price i got it for. Such a great deal, and left the store very happy. My wife and I also purchased a wedding set that we absolutely love. I would recommend Best … More Pawn to anyone that is looking for a screaming good deal. The staff are very polite,and helpful as well.
  • Avatar Devin Oneil ★★★★★ a year ago
    They gave me very helpful advice regarding some potential repairs. Very comprehensive, trust worthy, and great communication.
  • Avatar Garrett Bartz ★★★★★ a year ago
    Lane and the crew over at Lowell’s never disappoint. They’re my family’s go-to for all things automotive, and everyone I refer to them feels the same after they’ve had their cars in. Always an up front experience, they let us know what … More options we have in a no-pressure way. Quality, honest work, great prices and great people.
  • Avatar Sean Heille ★★★★★ a year ago
  • Avatar Sandy mcneillpatton ★★★★★ a year ago
    I can't begin to tell you how much I trust these people ..I. from georgia .I am very pleased with the service
  • Avatar Valerie Keesling ★★★★★ a year ago
    Honest, friendly, they let you know what needs to be done. They are reasonable in their prices. What they quote you at is what they charge.
  • Avatar David Lickness ★★★★ a year ago
    They do a decent job of auto repair a great job at tire repair and replacement a struggling small shop help out the small guys give them shot
  • Avatar Cody Lewis Oaks ★★★★★ a year ago
    Friendly, clear and honest communication, knowledgeable and efficient technicians. Quite simply:everything a neighborhood auto repair shop should be.
  • Avatar Nicole Kirkpatrick ★★★★★ a year ago
    Great customer care, reasonably priced, service performed in a timely fashion. Definitely recommend for auto care service.Services: Tires, Steering & suspension repair
  • Avatar Jason Kahl ★★★★★ a year ago
    I’ve been bringing my vehicles to Lane at Lowell’s for going on 20 years now. Even after moving to Rochester, I still bring my vehicles there. Everyone should know a good mechanic and shop. Get to know these guys!!
  • Avatar Lynn Tra ★★★★★ a year ago
    I was in town for some fun and school shopping with my kids this week. I ended up having car problems, not from the area so I used the closest shop around and was pleasantly surprised!! It was a friendly shop, very experienced employees, … More reasonable rates, and the owner went out of his way to ensure that I was back on the road in no time! This was huge as a single mother, my kids and I were able to enjoy the rest of our time without worry of car trouble or having to skip the things we had planned because of pricing!! Shout out to lowell's shop, wish I had a shop like this in my hometown!!
  • Avatar Carol Borris ★★★★★ a year ago
    Always doing there best to go above and beyond. I have been using them for 25 years. There the best!
  • Avatar diane Kelson ★★★★★ a year ago
    Great same day service at a fair price.
  • Avatar Doraine Sonsteng ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    Great customer and vehicle service!Service: Steering & suspension repair
  • Avatar Crystal Rich ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    My new go to. Honest and discriptive with what needed to be done. Affordable and reasonable. I was please with the work done.
  • Avatar Laura Thompson ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    Absolute best mechanic in the area. Very ethical people. Been going here for years.
  • Avatar Scott Thurston ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    Great service and reasonable prices
  • Avatar Jason Apple ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    The best place to bring your car for repair, hands down. Always always always excellent service.
  • Avatar Michael Bailey ★★★★★ 2 years ago
  • Avatar Kim Kerns ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    Excellent service
  • Avatar josh durham ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    Quick service, great guys, best pricing around. Only place I'll be taking my truck in the cities.
  • Avatar Griffin Strunk ★★★★★ 2 years ago
  • Avatar Sam Stenerson ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    This is a top quality auto shop. The owner is honest and knows what he's doing, as do the employee's. I brought a few vehicles here when I was starting to learn how to work on things and since then I've never found a shop … More that I'm happier with. As someone who's running a shop now this still comes to mind as a shop that is worth bringing your vehicle too. The work that's done here is good and you won't be ripped off.
  • Avatar jenn rudolph ★★★★★ 3 years ago
  • Avatar Carleen Howell ★★★★★ 3 years ago
  • Avatar Alfree Mee ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    Best honest guy in Minnesota hands down! Would give a 10⭐ if possible
  • Avatar kimberly liebelt ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    Awesome place, won't go anywhere else for auto work
  • Avatar Dean Jones ★★★★★ 3 years ago
  • Avatar Nicole Hull ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    Been going here for years. So honest and affordable.
  • Avatar Tman Nasser ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    Lowell is the man! Super fair and straight with you!
  • Avatar Escorpio Mendez ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    Excellent services, I recommended 👍👍
  • Avatar Marty Katrinak ★★★★ 3 years ago
    Great place to bring your car.
  • Avatar Tia Mahone ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    Trustworthy man! Very accomadating
  • Avatar David R Michalik ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    The best mechanic in Columbia Heights
  • Avatar Melissa Overson ★★★★★ 3 years ago
  • Avatar Saria Mcrae ★★★★★ 3 years ago
  • Avatar Joshua Randolph ★★★★★ 3 years ago
  • Avatar Adam Osegard ★★★★★ 3 years ago
  • Avatar Tom Hendricks ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    Best Mechanic in the Twin Cities. Always honest and never tried to "over service" my or my friends and families cars.
  • Avatar Nijal Jiggetts ★★★★★ 3 years ago
  • Avatar Nancy Olson ★★★★★ 3 years ago
  • Avatar Lisa Brandenburger ★★★★ 3 years ago
  • Avatar Maria Jacquez ★★★★★ 3 years ago
  • Avatar Dale Kallevig ★★★★ 3 years ago
    All&all Lowell's is absolutely hands up repair one little problem is it's not open on Saturdays…
  • Avatar Mary Warner ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    Great service! I have been coming here for years. Lowell is one of the best people to work with.
  • Avatar Carolina Garcia ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    I have a nissan and the first time I went to lowell for estimates he gave me honest opinions. Told me to get my cvt fluid change with dealership in case because of frequent cvt issues in nissan cars. Explained when to get brake fluid change … More and He also fixed the area around the clutch for free. I trust he uses good materials and has pride in his work. Business could be more organized but I love having someone to trust.Services: Brakes, Oil change
  • Avatar Breanna Axness ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    I love Lowell's! It is the only place I will take our vehicles. The staff are so friendly and charge a fair price. I know when they say something needs to be done, it actually needs to be done.
  • Avatar Ihunktowan Spierre ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    Very honest n affordable…no BS behind your hard earned dollars to fix your vehicle..drop off n will call when finished..great friendly atmosphere n AWESOME MECHANICS…SHOUT OUT TO EM…THEY SURE EARNServices: Auto engine diagnostic, Battery, … More Brakes, Air & cabin filter replacement, Steering & suspension repair, Auto engine tuning, Oil change, Tires, General repairs & maintenance
  • Avatar John Stevens ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    These folks were professional and respectable! I have come to trust their judgement and they will fix my vehicle to the best of their ability! Lowell is a kind,plain spoken man. I don't live near here anymore but will still take … More my car here because of the trust I have in them.
  • Avatar K. SPierre ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    Honesty is the best policy..been taking our Jeep family here for over 12 years ..Lowell is awesome in nature n great person overall…this auto shop is the best in nordeast..
  • Avatar Zach Meyers ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    Lowell is the best. My wife and I have been coming to him for years now. Always reasonable, and very thorough. I would not trust my vehicles to anyone else. Thanks for the great service!
  • Avatar Lisa Tucci ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    Lowell.. you are amazing! Thanks for all that you do!
  • Avatar Classic Dank ★★★★★ 3 years ago
  • Avatar chris peterson ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    Good job!!
  • Avatar scott larson ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    Lowell's the man!! Trust him, Fair prices!!
  • Avatar Ryan Evanson ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    My wife and I have used Lowell for a few years and agree he is fantastic. His prices are extremely fair, but the reason we use him is he is honest, doesn't rip us off, and gone out of his way on several occasions to help us when needed. … More I strongly recommend using him.
  • Avatar Jon Smith ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    Honest reliable service.
  • Avatar Nicholas Harper ★★★★★ 3 years ago
  • Avatar Krister W ★★★★★ 3 years ago
    Lowell has been taking care of my vehicles for 20 years he's very good he's very honest and very fair price
  • Avatar frank golebiowski ★★★★★ 3 years ago
  • Avatar Isaac Alie ★★★☆☆ 4 years ago
    Was nice
  • Avatar Floyd Enger ★★★★ 4 years ago
    Clean shop fsir
  • Avatar jonathan lazer ★★★★★ 4 years ago
    Friendly
  • Avatar Troy McLaughlin ★★★★★ 4 years ago
  • Avatar Lashonda Wilson ★★★★★ 4 years ago
    Lowell is great
  • Avatar Edward Chapman ★★★★★ 4 years ago
    Great service
  • Avatar Jj K ★★★★★ 4 years ago
  • Avatar Heather Breazile ★★★★★ 4 years ago
    My family loves this place! You can count on Lowell's for any job and leave with the security knowing it was done right with integrity. We've been customers for many years and although I am cities away, I still bring my cars here … More for repairs.
  • Avatar heather valentine ★★★★★ 4 years ago
    Lowell is awesome. Has worked on many of our vehicles and put in our new Engine. A very reasonable man and sticks to his word.
  • Avatar Rook the Regulator ★★★★★ 4 years ago
    Literally the only place I take any of my vehicles
  • Avatar Joan Dobbert ★★★★★ 4 years ago
    Been reliable for the last 40 years
  • Avatar Shveta Setia ★★★★★ 4 years ago
    Had an issue with my car, my brother in law recommended them. They were able to help me the same day. Lowell is upfront, honest and explains everything. Definitely recommend this place.
  • Avatar Scott Johnson ★★★★★ 4 years ago
  • Avatar Mike Mallery ★★★★★ 4 years ago
    Excellent service. They took care of the problem without over servicing the vehicle. They even waited for a few extra minutes so I could pick it up before they closed. This will be my new regular mechanic shop.
  • Avatar Judith Brodin ★★★★★ 4 years ago
    Lowell gets your car fixed at a fair price.
  • Avatar Jesse Brueshaber ★★★★★ 4 years ago
    An old fashioned honest American automotive repair shop.Not the fanciest shop in town by any means but the labor costs are fair & the repairs are done right the 1st time.I'll return to this shop again.
  • Avatar David Schiele ★★★★★ 4 years ago
    This is a small auto service center. They get you in and on your way quickly and cheaply
  • Avatar Amy Dady ★★★★★ 4 years ago
    Great place that has been a help to our family for years. Great customer service.
  • Avatar B B ★★★★★ 4 years ago
    Always honest, trustworthy, effecient, and more than fair in price. Goes above and beyond for his customers. I would never go anywhere else. Big jobs or simple oil changes.
  • Avatar kelly Roberts ★★★★★ 4 years ago
  • Avatar Tyler & Renae Lundeen ★★★★★ 5 years ago
  • Avatar Michelle Cadieux ★★★★★ 5 years ago
  • Avatar Kurt Gustafson ★★★★★ 5 years ago
    These guys are high quality, honest, fast and trustworthy.Broken tie rod last night. I called them this morning. They arranged a tow truck to pick up the car. They fit me in the same day, and beat their original estimate when it came … More time it came to pay. The car runs perfectly now. I highly recommend Lowell's Auto Repair.
  • Avatar Andy Fillmore ★★★★★ 5 years ago
    Lowell is the most honest and helpful mechanic I've ever met. My whole family goes to him because he consistently provides great service and makes us feel respected and like he's got our backs. He's the mechanic you always … More hope to find nearby, but so rarely do.
  • Avatar Rob Smith ★★★★★ 5 years ago
    Best mechanic I've ever dealt with. Honest, fair prices, does great work. Can't ask for better
  • Avatar Shelby LaFreniere ★★★★★ 5 years ago
    Trustworthy, good communication, good price, good turnaround time. What else can I say? My whole family goes here, it's great!
  • Avatar Sara Leszcynski ★★★★★ 5 years ago
  • Avatar Melissa Stockhaus ★★★★★ 5 years ago
    Honest, hard working and friendly staff, the mechanics know their stuff! Never taken my car anywhere else!
  • Avatar Cassidy Roesler ★★★★★ 5 years ago
    Reasonable prices and fabulous service. I have been using their service for 15 years.
  • Avatar Jorge Zeke ★★★★★ 5 years ago
    This guy is awesome. Best and most trustworthy mechanic ever he will make sure to fix everything that needs to be fixed and he will bring up things he sees will be s problem in the future so you can eather get it fixed now or at least not … More be suprized when those things break. He not only fixed it but when you get back in the car it feels cleaner and smells better then when you left it there talk about great costumer service. If you need it rushed you can explain the situation and from my experiance you should be good to go he can sympathize with problems and feels more like a friend then a mechanic|business owner great costumer service skills and great crew won’t leave you disappointed I will miss him moving to Milwaukee wi I don’t think I will ever find anyone to replace him
  • Avatar Colleen Brown ★★★★ 5 years ago
    Very helpful and friendly
  • Avatar james chovan ★★★★★ 5 years ago
    Very great mechanic in the world always go above and beyond to get you back on the road safe and sound without charging you huffty charges. And always make the customer happy and feel important. And last but not lease always tells you if … More u have future problems that will need attetion later. 5 ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
  • Avatar Gary Wood ★★★★★ 5 years ago
    They treat me right, and it's the only place I trust
  • Avatar Dar Bradley ★★★★★ 6 years ago
    I had a bad O2 sensor, and after calling 4 separate referrals this shop was the cheapest with the best reviews. He had me come in, was super friendly, and an hour and 20 minutes later my car was done! He even took the time to show me the … More part and explain what they did and thanked me personally for bringing my truck to them. I officially have a new mechanic! Thank you so much Lowell! Highly recommended!
  • Avatar jessica lapage ★★★★★ 6 years ago
  • Avatar E L ★★★★★ 6 years ago
    Best auto repair place in the area. I've used this place for many years after hearing about them from my sister and my mother who both used them for years also. They're the most honest repair place I've ever used. I've … More given them plenty of opportunity to take advantage of me and make me get repairs done but they're just honest and just tell me what actually needs fixing. They could have taken advantage of my sister or my mother considering they don't know much about cars but they always were just honest and didn't pile on the repairs. I love these guys.
  • Avatar Danielle Gangelhoff ★★★★★ 6 years ago
  • Avatar C Townsin ★★★★★ 6 years ago
    Great guy great place
  • Avatar scott hyde ★★★★ 6 years ago
  • Avatar Odell Knapper ★★★★ 6 years ago
    Trust worthy, and they do good work!
  • Avatar Jared Dick ★★★★★ 7 years ago
    Been using lowells auto repair for about 5 years. Very honest, best prices around. I recommend this place to my friends and family all the time, and anyone else needing work on their vehicle
  • Avatar Tabitha Lindsay ★★★★★ 7 years ago
    Extremely wonderful expereince. Lowell is a very honest and kind business man. He took the time to show me what was going on with my car, talked me through my options and gave me a very resonable quote.
  • Avatar Aaron Quinby ★★★★★ 7 years ago
    Lowell has to be the most honest mechanic of all time! Not only does he do fantastic work, he does it for a fair price. I have used this shop for about two years. Best shop around!!
  • Avatar Phillip and Sue Kruchten ★★★★★ 7 years ago
  • Avatar Mandi Hyres ★★★★★ 7 years ago
  • Avatar Kevin Moody ★★★★★ 7 years ago
  • Avatar Kong Yang ★★★★ 7 years ago
  • Avatar Deanna StandingCloud ★★★★★ 10 years ago
    I have been going to Lowell's auto repair for a few years now. I will not go anywhere else if I can help it. Lowell is an honest business man and hard worker. He will take the time to show me exactly what needs repair. He is respectful … More and completes his work in a very timely manner. I would suggest his shop to anyone who does not want to deal with shady commercial auto shops!

 

Service Area

Lowell’s Auto Repair proudly serves the Columbia Heights, Fridley, Minneapolis, New Brighton, Hilltop, NorthEast Minneapolis, St Anthony, Robbinsdale, Brooklyn Park,  Brooklyn Center, Lauderdale,  Hennepin County, Anoka County, and  Ramsey County Areas.
Find us on this google map for directions and location!